Tags

,

If I had to guess, I would bet that most people reading these words are at least slightly familiar with the theory of Diffusion of Innovations.  Up until a few months ago, I only would have thought of Geoffrey Moore’s work on the subject, but several things led me back to Everett Rogers and the other pioneers in that field.

If you’re reading this from EdStartup 101, you’re most likely an innovator or an early adopter when it comes to new ways of learning.  And if so, you’re probably pretty tolerant of the inevitable glitches that occur in the early stages of the New Thing.

I’m glad I am, since I was one of the “victims” of the syndication issue that plagued EdStartup in the first few days. (It’s a good reminder, too, that not everybody is an early adopter!  The early and late majority in any market have very different needs and concerns, as I was reminded last month, and it’s easy for us early adopter types to forget that!)  Anyway, I dutifully deleted and recreated my account, but the problems continued until David Wiley finally solved them personally.  (Had I not tried to create a new-and-different account, and had someone else not tried to solve things by creating yet another account, things might have gone more smoothly.)  Thanks again, David!  It’s good to know that blog posts will show up properly.

But just in case you missed them,

  • here’s a link to my introductory post and video, and
  • here’s a link to some thoughts I had about “running to” and “running from” things when you’re aiming to make big changes.

Now that things are functioning smoothly here, and now that we’ve begun to  hit our stride in my face-to-face teaching world, I’m looking forward to being much more active in the EdStartup conversation.  It’s so good to be here and in one piece!

